The fourth conviction for DUI, whether the other three occurred in Montana or elsewhere, is a serious matter. This is a felony conviction and carries stiff penalties. The law requires a person convicted of their fourth DUI to serve 13 months in prison. The sentence can be up to 5 years, but 13 months of it must be served. This time cannot be suspended or deferred, and the person is not eligible for parole. As with all things legal though, there is an exception. Upon completion of a residential treatment program – the rest of the 13 months must be served on probation.
The fourth DUI in Montana carries a fine of between $1,000 and $10,000.