Montana ACT Program Providers

Almost every DUI I handle that doesn’t result in a not-guilty verdict or an outright dismissal includes a requirement that the defendant complete an approved ACT Program and complete any suggested follow-up treatment.

Currently in Kalispell, there is only one approved ACT Provider: Flathead Valley Chemical Dependency Clinic. As of today, they are charging $375 for the program. They can be reached by calling 756-6453 for the Kalispell office. They also have offices in Eureka, Libby, and Thompson Falls.

The next closest alternative for those of us in the Flathead is Western Montana Addiction Services, with offices in Missoula and Polson. In Missoula, they can be reached at 406-532-9800 and in Polson their number is 406-883-7310.

As a reminder, completing the ACT class is often a condition of a plea deal. If you have plead in a DUI case (or to reckless driving where the original charges were DUI) and agreed to enroll in the ACT program within a certain amount of time: MAKE SURE YOU DO IT. The last thing you want is to jeopardize your freedom because you didn’t get moving and make a phone call to take a class.

If you have any questions about the ACT Class or ACT Providers, please call me at 406-752-6373. I offer a free first meeting with people accused of DUI so you’ve really got nothing to lose.

Montana ACT Program

DUI charges in Montana, no matter the outcome, will often involve a requirement that you take the ACT class. In fact, conviction for DUI per se requires that you take a state approved alcohol or dangerous drugs information course. The course must be provided by a certified chemical dependency counselor. The ACT program is a common way to meet that requirement in Montana. The ACT program stands for ASSESSMENT, COURSE, and TREATMENT.

ASSESSMENT: this is the evaluative portion of the program. It is used to identify chemical use patterns of DUI offenders and to make appropriate recommendations for education and treatment.

COURSE: this is the educational portion of the program. The DUI educational component must include a minimum of 4 educational sessions totaling at least 8 hours. The curriculum needs to cover 4 major topics: review of the law and consequences, physiological/neurophysiological effects of alcohol or other drugs, social and psychological implications of alcohol, and self assessment.

TREATMENT: a referral to the ACT class contains a requirement that the defendant complete any recommended treatment. The need for treatment services must be documented and verified through assessment and state approved patient placement procedures. Treatment may be provided by the treatment program conducting the ACT program or through a referral to another treatment program.

Even if your case ends in a plea agreement wherein you plead to a lesser offense, the prosecutor and judge may still require that you complete the ACT program. To complete the class, you must enroll by the date specified by the Court. If no date is specified, you must enroll within 10 days of the ACT program’s receipt of the Court referral. From there, you must start the course within 30 days of the program’s receipt of the referral, and must complete the program in a minimum of 30 days from the date of enrollment, but no longer than 90 days from the date of the enrollment.